Thursday, May 24, 2007

Smoke-Free Air Act and Kean University No-Smoking Policy

(Official campus notice)

Smoke-Free Air Act and Kean University No-Smoking Policy

As Kean University is included in the Smoke-Free New Jersey -- A Breath of Fresh Air policy, all employees must familiarize themselves with these regulations, enforcement and possible fines for violations.

Smoke-Free Air Act and Kean University No Smoking Policy

In December 2006, the initial information on New Jersey’s first ever Smoke Free Air Act was sent out to all faculty, staff and students. This NJ state regulation came about as of April 2006; this is a continuation as well as the publication of an updated University policy regarding smoking on campus.

In February 1994, in accordance with the Public Employees Occupational Safety and Health Act of Subchapter 11 of the State Uniform Construction Code “Indoor Air Quality standards and procedures for buildings occupied by public employees”; a University Board of Trustees resolution (#94-02-01-743) was adopted whereas smoking was prohibited in all academic, office and physical plant buildings, and in the common areas of all residence halls on the campus.

As of April 2006 Kean University is “Smoke Free”; this means that in following with the NJ State regulations of the smoke free air act, Kean updated it’s policy and prohibits smoking in any and all public buildings on campus, private offices, maintenance areas, including all state vehicles and no smoking in or around the grounds of the Child Care Facility in Campus School North. In addition, any individuals who must smoke are required to stay a minimum of 3 (three) feet from any building entrance.

The following is the state’s regulation:

As of April 15, 2006, all indoor workplaces and public places became smoke free. This law, enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of New Jersey, protects employees and the public from second-hand smoke. Signage is required at every public entrance and must be properly maintained where smoking is prohibited. These signs will be placed at all main entrance doors within the next few weeks. Signs also must state that violators may be fined. The following fines can be levied if someone is caught or is turned in for breaking this law:

- A fine of not less than $250 for the first offense
- $500 for the second offense, and
- $1,000 for each subsequent offense

Enforcement at Kean University will be the responsibility of all University personnel. Any one found smoking inside any public buildings on campus, private offices, maintenance areas, or state vehicles will be subject to progressive disciplinary action by the university. Complaints can be reported to the Environmental Health and Safety Officer, Human Resources, 2nd floor Administration building.

More information about the Smoke-Free Air Act can be found on the web at Feel free to contact the environmental health and safety officer with questions by sending an e-mail to or calling 908-737-3316.

Thank you in advance for your continued cooperation and support.